Lost Wedding Ring

Nanky

Founding Member
Founding Member
So, I nearly lost my wedding again this weekend and it got me thinking . . . how many here have lost their wedding ring(s)? Do you guys take it off prior to hunting?

This came about because I shot a doe out in western SD on Friday evening. About an hour after getting back to camp, I noticed that my wedding ring was missing. I searched the truck, but of course it was not in there, so I assumed I lost it either gutting the doe or on the drag back. The next morning I made the journey back into where I had shot the doe, first of course shooting a limit of grouse on the way in ( :) priorities you know). I went to the gut pile, looked in the easy spots, not there. Then I remembered that I had wiped my hands with the nearby grasses, so I figured I should look there before messing with the gut pile. I started lifting some of the grasses and sure enough there sat my wedding ring!! I still can't believe it was just sitting right there, I thought for sure that I had lost it on the drag out. Here's a picture I took with the grouse and wedding ring, it was a good hunt and happy I didn't have to explain losing the ring to my wife!

IMG_2484.jpg

Pinecone

Founding Member
Founding Member
mine is in the old ladys jewelry box, lost it once "found", it cut my finger then into the box

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member
Never lost mine (it fits my finger pretty much perfect) but my great uncle lost his deer hunting a few years ago. He was removing his glove for some reason and it was a cold day. Best he can figure is his fingers shrunk a bit from the temperature and the ring just came off with the glove. Snow on the ground meant no finding it. I've always wanted to bring a metal detector to his spot to see if I could dig it out of the leaf litter.

Ericb

Founding Member
Founding Member