Rod Blanks

pluckem

Founding Member
Founding Member
I know some on here have some custom rods or build their own rods. I am wondering what blank manufacturers you have used or know anything about.
In the walleye world itseems like most recommend St. Croix which makes sense, since they make a highquality blank, reviews are easy to find, and it easy to check one out in astore to see if it’s what you are looking for.

So past that, what otherblanks have you used for walleye rods?

North Fork Composites
Phenix
Rainshadow / Batson

I have no experience onany of the above, but it seems a lot of people place those manufactures aboveSt. Croix in general terms.

FishReaper

Founding Member
Founding Member
Id like to know as well what are some good blanks.
I want to make my first rod and have no clue where to start.
would like to make a nice jigging rod

TVolkZV

Founding Member
Founding Member
I like the phoenix blanks for my rods but they are pretty pricey for a solid blank i like the MHX blanks a pretty great bang for your buck blank

pluckem

Founding Member
Founding Member
I like the phoenix blanks for my rods but they are pretty pricey for a solid blank i like the MHX blanks a pretty great bang for your buck blank

Any details on the Phenix blanks you have? model number, technique used for, any comparisons on the action to other more well known rods?

TVolkZV

Founding Member
Founding Member