Cranks

Vollmer

Founder
Administrator
I'm somewhat new to cranking. What are some tips? Where can a guy get good deals on these spendy lures? What are your favorite cranks? etc ...

Thanks

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
flicker shads before they go up in price again. Used to be a no-brainer but now they're close to the same price as a shad rap.

- - - Updated - - -

I should add, I like to use #7's for trolling. I'm cheap and that's the only lure that's free on the precision trolling data app. I like 6's and 5's for pitching. Another great lure would be reef runners. Little rippers (700's) and deep little rippers are both great. Deep little rippers allow you to get down to fish without having to use lead core.

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
Reef runner rip shads work great also, and you get to learn how to tune cranks when they don't run straight.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
Tim S is a crankbaits guy, someone get him over here, we will all be better off

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
Another tip, Vollmer. Set up a separate bank account right now. Start funneling money into it that your wife doesn't account for.

Fisherman25

Founding Member
Founding Member
For those of you that like reef runners, I've been running the cabelas version of those the last few years and I like them a lot better. They're tuned quite well from the box and I can honestly say they work very well in terms of catching. Plus they get really reasonable when they're on sale.

- - - Updated - - -

As far as my favorites go, I like flicker shads, shad raps, those Cabelas walleye runners, hornets and jointed shad raps.

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
For casting cranks on the Sheyenne, I go with husky jerks, shallow shad raps, and original rapalas. Blue silver and firetiger are usually my starting points for colors. Most everything else dives to deep for where I fish.

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member