foxpro experts

bigv

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have a foxpro inferno. Nice little call. Have only used it a few times and have had success with it. But living in dakotas it obviously gets windy here. The inferno is great in calm conditions but it's not too often we get dead days. It seems that it may not be as loud as I prefer in breezes? Maybe it is? Wondering if an external speaker (i think It takes one) or just bumping up a call would be better? thoughts??

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
When them stinky butt sniffers can hear my quiet mouth squeek from 300 yards and come within bow range, they can hear whatever call you have. Their hearing is uncanny.

bigv

Founding Member
Founding Member
true but not true. Wind plays a big factor in calling. I am not a newbie in coyote hunting, just newish with electronics. Calling out to 1-200 yds is one thing but reaching out to 3-500 yds is another on a breezy day.

Petras

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have an inferno as well. I went and picked up one of the foxpro externals and it has done me well. I like being able to fit it all in my day pack. Thats why I didn't bump up to a bigger call. I very rarely run my call full blast now, usually I stick around a 30 on the volume and that is more than enough. Did I overpay for it because it says "foxpro"? probably, but oh well It works. One thing I will say though is the Foxpro branded batteries are awesome. Expensive, but they have been great for me.

Coyote Hunter

Founding Member
Founding Member
It depends on how serious you are planning on getting into coyote hunting. If you aren't that serious, just be a fair weather caller and go when the conditions/wind speeds are right.