How thick do you like the ice to be before you start walking out and fishing?

bigcatpike

Founding Member
Founding Member
I am pretty new to ice fishing (last season was my first) and I was wondering how much ice is enough to start walking out and fishing safely.

lunkerslayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
4 inches of clear ice
thinicechartgif-1.jpg

This would be for smaller lakes or ponds with shallow water or closer to shore

Last edited:

Fish whisperer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Last year I went out on 6 inches and that was about as thin as i'll go. Problem is if it's 6 inches, the "bad" spots may be much thinner. I love ice fishing but love coming home to my family more.

Kickemup

Founding Member
Founding Member
I use to go out on 3 before I had kids now it's got be 5plus. I just get to fish the river a little longer in the fall now.

deleted_account

Founding Member
Founding Member
Yea 4 ish is about as thin as I'll go. Even then I'm pretty sketched out. I don't act like it tho, obviously :;:smokin

CAH

Founding Member
Founding Member
I walked out knowing that out of the channel was 4-6 inches, well I found the channel and it was only about 2.5....I fished and caught some fish but it was a little dicey....

701FishSlayer

Founding Member
Founding Member
Was driving out on 10 last year. I'm just not comfortable with ice. Even at 16 I get the jitters.

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
Anything a spud won't go through with a good thrust. 3ish if high quality. 4-5 not a second thought.

Hookin8easy

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'll walk out on 3-4" clear ice on lakes I know, I am a little guy though-155, if it's a lake I don't know I won't leave the tracks until 8+, I'll drive on 16" but follow tracks, again on lakes I know, I grew up with my dad being a brave and lucky SOB but springs are common in many lakes- no need to be a trail blazer be safe

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member