Ion 40v

HammsRMK

Honored Member
Hey guys, got a brand new ion last season and was awesome with the 8" with knife blades. Was thinking great love it, drill 35 ish holes the first day on one battery. We ended up getting a permanent house and was thinking ion will work great, lets get a 10" with the chipper blades. I have to lay on the thing to cut a couple holes and then battery is dead. Went and bought a new battery same thing, maybe 5-6 holes and thing really doesn't cut very good. I did buy the 10" flight used, guy said he only drilled 10-12 holes with it. Think I should get new blades or is the 40v not cut out for the BIG 10"!!!! Any one else try switching between 8 and 10"?

Thanks,

Last edited:

Holmsvc

Founding Member
Founding Member
I didn't know they made chipper blades for an ion.

AR-15

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Sounds like bad blades or it's bent

ardee

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have been using my ion auger much as you described for going on 5 years now and love it. I use the 8 inch for run and gun and switch to the 10 inch in the castle, still on the original battery. For sure the 10 inch uses up battery much quicker than the 8 inch but it is moving over twice the ice in each hole. as for cutting I have had no trouble with either auger. I can cut at least 16 to 20 10 inch holes between charges with no problem. the chipper blade cuts through with minimal pressure both cutting new holes as well as re-opening old froze over holes. I would guess that your bit has probably been run either in dirty ice or "grounded out" in shallow water. New chippers or having the old ones sharpened should fix your problem. (I did both on my old jiffy and kept the old ones for spares) Also it is best to recharge the battery at the end of the day if it has been run down or not. I keep a charger in the fish house and recharge after opening the holes in the morning so that I have the benefit of a full charge if I want to go hunting later in the day as well. Good luck an