VCR tape to digital file conversion

Maddog

★★★★★ Legendary Member
I am in the information gathering phase of trying to convert some old VCR tapes into digital format on my computer. Then I plan on downloading the digital files to USB flash drive(s) or external hard drives. We have both a VCR camcorder and a VCR tape player.

Has any of you gone down this path and if so are there recommendations you can make?

I googled it and found some information, but I am not tech savvy enough to know what is better between some options.

We decided against recording the tapes to DVD's, solely driven by the eventual demise of DVD players. Our latest computer doesn't even have a DVD bay.

Thanks

scrotcaster

Founding Member
Founding Member
I think there are some companies where you can send them to and they will do it for you for not that much. or atleast there use to be.

espringers

Founding Member
Founding Member
this ^^^ just send em in. or else you could find an old machine that converts VHS to DVD and then take the information off said DVD onto an external hard drive 1 TB drives are practically free these days. the latter is pretty simple too. but, ya need to find an old machine. ramsey photo in DL might still do that kind of thing for you.

Browneye

Founding Member
Founding Member