Fishing Kayaks

NDOUTDOORS

looking for opinions and suggestions for buying one. Ive so far looked at the Hobie pro angler 14. Im new to this idea and think it would be super fun to get out to some of the smaller lakes on one.

Fly Carpin

Founding Member
Founding Member
I fish out of my touring kayak (16' long and built for covering ground more than fishing) and it works ok. But a buddy has a Jackson Cuda and it's built for anglers. You can adjust the seat height for traveling (low) or fishing (high). Tons of storage, room for add-ons, and I was able to stand in it and fly fish. I'm 6'3" and 230 and felt very stable double haul casting in a decent chop. And it's about 2k cheaper than the Hobie. But those fins would be awesome for trolling cranks with two rods

Ristorapper

Founding Member
Founding Member
I believe Epic Sports in Bismarck has Jackson kayaks. I also believe they rent them. May be able to try before you buy. I know this was true several years ago. Not sure if it is true today. They are located on the Bismarck side near the intersection of the memorial bridge.

NDwalleyes

Founding Member
Founding Member
I've contemplated buying a kayak, but I've also thought about buying a 12-14 ft boat that a guy could just throw in the back of the truck with a small motor. Maybe buy one of these guys too.

hitch.jpg

Attachments

hitch.jpg

ORCUS DEMENS

Founding Member
Founding Member