Last weekend strategies

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member
Huh...I'm not sure how a comment asking when deer may move on a subzero day would infer I wouldn't go. Merely if it makes sense to get out there an hour before light and potentially freeze my keister off, or if it would be better to hem my chances closer to sunup "given the conditions."

I don't propose to be an expert deer killer. I've been out on double-digits-below zero days only once, and it was in the afternoon. Thus my question.

Good luck hunting. Hopefully you can find the time.
I did a deer study last week. So the temps were no where as cold as they are here -- but the snow was on the ground - the bucks are just going into rut where i was.

The deer i studied were in winter mode. They were gathering up. They were eating all day. They werent eating early ---They started about 9am and ate all day. The snow and cold nights make a difference.

In all my years I have the same percentage shot in the middle of the day vs the AM and PM when its this cold out. The key is walking to keep warm with the right clothing so you dont sweat to much. Happiness is getting one and warming those hands on the gut job.

Josh Havelka

Founding Member
Founding Member
Been hunting all week. The deer were out quit a bit Monday and Tuesday moving around and eating. Small bucks chasing some tail. Only a couple good bucks starting to do the lip curl. Wenesday it was complete opposite only saw a couple deer. Today with all the wind we did not think they would have been out but they were all over. Tagged out at noon. Saw some of the better bucks chasing tail. Good luck to everyone hunting the rest of the weekend. 2nd what @shorthairsrus said about keeping warm. Layers on top. Long johns and brush pants. Had cotton gloves under my other gloves and a neck gator.

Duckslayer100

Founding Member
Founding Member