Need your mechanic thoughts

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
First, I have a 2004 GMC Sierra SLE 5.3L. 105,000 on her and she usually purrs like a kitten in a bathtub of warm milk. A couple months ago, whenever I'd come to a red light, she'd sputter and idle terrible, especially pulling away. Mechanic friend pulled off the MAF and sprayed some special cleaner on it and I dug in his garage fridge. Everything has ran fine after that until today again. Does a guy go though the same process or order a new MAF sensor? Run some seafoam through the fuel system and call it a day? I'm not a mechanic and don't pretend to be. Any help is appreciated.

deleted_account

Founding Member
Founding Member
mine was idling rough something terrible but my engine light came on right before it started acting up. 02 sensor had it running rich. Notice any different smells?

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
Yes, CEL came on as I pulled back into the office. Exhaust did smell different.

Colonel Angus

Founding Member
Founding Member
If you can get the code, you will take most of the guessing out of the equation. My guess is if you have already had MAF issues, just put a new one in. Easy to do and not a ton of money.

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have friends with code readers but they are busy tonight.

Navajo-code-talkers.jpg

- - - Updated - - -

... you should be used to this driving a Dodge :;:muahaha

not wanting to be sad about vehicle problems is WHY I drive a Ram :;:rockit

- - - Updated - - -

I should have bought an eco-boost. I heard nobody has been sad about those.

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
I guess the plan will be to stop by O-O-Oreilly's on the way home and check the code, buy the part and install. If that doesn't work it's going home with my friend tomorrow.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
close outs on some 2015's going on right now, get after.

Best bet is to upgrade the entire outfit.

NodakBuckeye