Tire Question

Wallike

★★★ Legendary Member
My mom recently called me and asked why the tire dealer said she needed to put on 4 new tires on her Ford Escape when only one had an issue. The first thing I thought of was this dealer was trying to pad the sale. My mom is 86 and on a fixed income and the dealer knows this. I've checked around and most tire dealers say they won't replace just one bad tire, even if they can match the tire exactly.

I'm reaching out to the NDA experts on their thoughts. What do you all think of this sales strategy?

NG3067

★★ Legendary Member
If it’s an all wheel drive they will only replace the one tire if it’s within certain tolerances. Must be hard on the drive train.

I’m not an expert just had this happen last week on my rig.

db-2

★★★★★ Legendary Member
Over the years of my life and at one time not having many monies i replaced one tire many of times especially if the other one was still in good shape. And with another used tire.

Normally all 4 were shot but hard enough money wise to buy one.
And we all survive.
Today i really do need to replace at least the two back tires on my dodge but will get all four at a cost of 1400. In the last few months had to replace four tires on my other dodge and four on my wives Buick (awd) but only did two. Took a long road to get here. db

Tikka280ai

Founding Member
Founding Member
Having 1 new tire with full tread, even if it is the same model, can be tough on the drive train of a vechile. Especially on something that is all wheel drive. If it 2wd you can get away with putting a new tire on the non drive axle. If it is selectable 4wd put it on the free spinning axle.

This is all according my a buddy who works on drive trains. He claims tires should always be replaced in pairs

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
the boy blew a tire, all need replacing on his 2011 F150, I just replaced the shittiest one, and put it on the drive wheel.