Doorbell Cameras

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
My new home came the a RING doorbell that has a camera. It wouldn't even ring without internet and we just got our phone and internet Wifi hooked up Tuesday. So I can access my camera from any computer and my phone from anywhere. I was watching my dog on the deck yesterday from work and yelled her name and she didn't know what to think. The view is fantastic and now I just want to go home when I look at my view.

Anyway, does anyone have any tips or tricks to the settings? Not sure how to set it up I just started playing around with it and don't wanna mess anything up as it works pretty good now. I would like it to stay on a little longer when the motion is acitvated.

KDM

Founding Member
Founding Member
My only tip is to read every word of the RING contract and be sure you want that device for your home. Have fun and enjoy messing with the dog.

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
As of now I have a 30 day trial with RING. I have no contract yet. Yeah my thermostat is a online thing you can talk to also but I've just set the heat to stay warm and havn't messed with it. I don't know if I want devices hooked up to internet where they are "listening" to me. I like the camera and being able to see who's coming up to the house. But I will read every word, If I sign up for anything.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
Was contemplating this, just to keep an eye on the boy and who he has coming and going on a daily basis. Then I second guess myself, as I would have hated my parents tracking me as a lad, so I am torn.

Rowdie

Founding Member
Founding Member
We're pretty much on camera with every move we make. If you live in a city, I'd bet you're being filmed almost continually by a camera somewhere. Between all the cameras on houses and vehicles, not to mention some workplaces have them, I'd bet most people are videoed most every minute.

ktm450

★★ Legendary Member