GUN and scope?

Ugly Dogs

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'm going to build a new rifle; I'm looking at HS Precision or a Roughrider Arms. Does anyone have any recommendations on either of these? I am thinking of the 300 prc or the staying with a 7MM.

Next question there is some many good scopes on the market that trying to make the right decision is messing me up. I'm looking for options on the scope between $1,000 - $2,000 range.

I like to shoot but I'm not the kind of shooter that likes to sit and punch paper. I prefer to move around and shoot at shit in the field or my favorite is to pop balloons at 300 -600 yds or more.

I'm not technical guy I have never had turrets or anything like that and always shot more instinctive.

Advice please

bucksnbears

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'd stick with a fast twist 7mag.
And do it on a Rem 700 action.

Scope, lots of good options in that price range.

SDMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
What are you going to use it for? If it’s a “play-toy”, you might consider a fast twisted hot 24 or 22.

Ugly Dogs

Founding Member
Founding Member
I'll be using it Deer, Elk and Moose. I hunt deer and elk every year with my 7MM and Moose about every 3 years. I've been shooting a .338 AI for Moose but as I have got older and have shoulder that needs to be reattached the .338 has become a pain to shoot and I will not ever have a muzzle break.

I truly love the 7MM but I thought it would be cool to try something else.

Like I said before I am not technical guy when it comes to guns, to me it's just tool like a hammer. I don't know what a fast twist is. I have always just grabbed a gun of the shelf and thrown a Leupold on it, usually in the $1,000 range. I have never had a scope that multiple reticles in it. Always just one. This will be my Legacy gun that my son will get so I'm willing to spend more this time and I want to do it right.

The gun isn't my biggest decision, it's the scope that I'm more unsure of.