sinkhole at IHOP

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
This is so bizarre. I'm no structural engineer so I am at a loss at to what possibly could have happened. :::

Engineers are on their way to the scene to determine the cause. ;:;rofl

Last edited:

svnmag

Founding Member
Founding Member
Scary shi'ite, happened in a Corvette museum a while back. Ground water erodes a cavern.

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
See anything that gives you even a remote idea what might possibly have gone wrong?

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
what do you see at each end of the "sinkhole"?

- - - Updated - - -

the perfectly straight sinkhole (not real common in nature)

- - - Updated - - -

or shall we say non-existent in nature?

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have the feeling Ghost will look at this and know who's to blame for its occurrence. This is the kind of thing that keeps guys like him up at night.

deleted_account

Founding Member
Founding Member
buried culvert, so the soil has been disturbed and no amount of packing, tamping etc. can compare with the densities of the undisturbed "virgin" soils on each side of culvert. Rain water/runoff slowly erode the disturbed dirt and whamo. :;:smokin or something like that

3Roosters

Founding Member
Founding Member
I thought I read somewhere...who knows though..could be imaging things..but I thought this happened somewhere else before where it was found that a sink in was because there was something under the surface..underground garage or whatnot..and the surface ground gave in.
Like I said though...maybe I am just imaging things. Happens a lot when you get older.

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
buried culvert, so the soil has been disturbed and no amount of packing, tamping etc. can compare with the densities of the undisturbed "virgin" soils on each side of culvert. Rain water/runoff slowly erode the disturbed dirt and whamo. :;:smokin or something like that