Small Propane Tank

Fitz

Established Member
Where can you find a small propane tank (around 5 pounds) that won't cost more than it should? Everything that I see online from the "box stores" have them priced for at least $45 empty.

Bfishn

Founding Member
Founding Member
Menards when running the 11% off everything is the cheapest you'll find them. But yes you'll still pay more for the little guys than the super common 20#

I run an 11#, and prefer tall and skinny over short and fat :)

Last edited:

Kentucky Windage

Founding Member
Founding Member
I’ve been running a 5lb tank for at least 5 years now. Refilling isn’t an issue as I have a place that does it just down the road. You will recover your investment cost in no time when you compare bulk price to the 1 lb bottle price. You can refill the little 1 lb cans, but I have no desire to get into that. I refill mine every 3-4 outings. Running out of propane sucks. Depending on size and weight requirements you looking to achieve, you might look into an 11 lb tank. The empty weight of a 5 VS 11 pound tank are very close. I fish a lot, and most of my outings are only partial days. It gets annoying at times because it seams like I’m constantly refilling the 5lb. I have an 11lb as well. Those come in 2 styles........tall and skinny or short and fat. The tall and skinny will fit in a 5 gallon bucket. They are very tippy. The short and fat one fits in a milk crate and is much more stable.

These are my experiences with less than 20lb propane tanks. Good luck.

guywhofishes

Founding Member
Founding Member
I have had both the fatty and the tall 11s... the skinny is better if you have a way to support/transport.

The fatty is a horrible space hog - and the handle/knob seem to reach out and screw other stuff up. Wish they made tanks that didn't have sharp metal edges all over the place.

s-l640.jpg

wait... whaaaaaaat???

- - - Updated - - -