Used boat shopping.....

Traxion

Founding Member
Founding Member
So I'm just getting started doing a little new to me boat shopping. Nothing crazy, just looking at 17' is aluminum, four stroke 115hp +, 15k-20k range. Just a good used rig. I've always watched online ads (Walleye Central, etc.) and have saved a lot of different boats for price comparison. But it seems there isn't an excess of boats in this category these days. Just missed a really nice one on Craigslist this week, already 8 people in line for it!

Any advice on where to look? Other than WC, Craigslist, Bisman, the local dealers, etc.? Not afraid to travel but with the weekly schedule I can't just drop everything and go. Which is about what you need to be able to do if you really like something you find. Just curious where/how you guys have searched for/found boats in the past. Craiglist can suck years out of your life! I haven't even ventured in the MN CL but folks say there are some good deals to be had over there. Thoughts?

Captain Ahab

Founding Member
Founding Member
Going to MN will save you a bundle. My wife gives me crap because I have bought the vast majority of my toys in MN.

- - - Updated - - -

user-online.png

Premium Member
Blue_Glow_Forum_Ranks_Premium.png

reputation_pos.png
Join DateApr 2015Posts577NDA Points27,650NDA Level72Report Entries2
Thumbs Up
Received: 869
Given: 774

- - - Updated - - -

5575 posted this in another forum

DirtyMike

Founding Member
Founding Member
I agree with ahab. Bought my boat in MN as well. Part of the fun is telling them blue platers that I don't have to pay taxes on the boat.

shorthairsrus

Founding Member
Founding Member