Ice Auger

JMF

Founding Member
Founding Member
Has anybody tried to reopen an old hole with the SM electric? Or tried to drill connecting holes? I have very little experience with shaver blades, I've always had chippers.

NDSportsman

Founding Member
Founding Member
Has anybody tried to reopen an old hole with the SM electric? Or tried to drill connecting holes? I have very little experience with shaver blades, I've always had chippers.
You can't do either of those with shaver blades.

johnr

Founding Member
Founding Member
Looked at the Ion 8" with the 40 battery yesterday. My old Jiffy 3.0 is over 31 years old, and running pretty a okay, but feel the need for one that is quieter, faster, and requires no pesky cord pulls.

Is the Ion a way to go? I am not going to buy a drill, and the bit and all that other jazz, just want a complete single purpose ice auger.

BRK

★★★★★ Legendary Member
I've cut with a friends SM40v and my dad's Ion Gen3. Really couldn't tell you which is better cuz they were both awesome. I will say I liked the grip/feel/handle set-up of the Ion of the SM.

Founding Member
Founding Member
My Strikemaster 40 volt has been bulletproof here and with two extensions up on Winnipeg John.
I did put a Kdrill on it thou. If your not going to be drilling a ton of holes that new 24 volt ultra light stikemaster would be pretty sweet.

thriller1

Founding Member
Founding Member
Looked at the Ion 8" with the 40 battery yesterday. My old Jiffy 3.0 is over 31 years old, and running pretty a okay, but feel the need for one that is quieter, faster, and requires no pesky cord pulls.

Is the Ion a way to go? I am not going to buy a drill, and the bit and all that other jazz, just want a complete single purpose ice auger.

I've owned an 8" Ion for quite awhile. I'll never go back to gas. You wont go wrong in my opinion.

riverview

Founding Member
Founding Member
i just bought the strike master 24 volt, very light working great on the thin ice we have so far.